The Latest News

“Stop payment orders are only effective for six months, unless renewed by the maker, which rarely happens.” Q: I just opened up the mail, and what do you suppose was in it? A notice from my bank informing me that one of my tenant’s rent check...

“Criteria used to adopt the new building codes would materially differ from today.” If the State of California has its way, the California Building Standards Commission (CBSC) and the State Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) may adopt building standards for residential and commercial buildings...

“We are lucky today to have so many choices of countertop materials available.” Dear Maintenance Men: I am getting ready to paint my property and noticed a lot of mold or mildew in the shaded areas. I am worried that scraping these areas when we prep for...

I have been in the rental housing industry for more than 45 years, as have many of you, and I have lived through various cycles of the real estate market. The current state of affairs as it relates to the Coronavirus is unchartered territory for...

New COVID-19 Forms/Resources These are unprecedented and challenging times for the rental housing industry. AACSC is reviewing and analyzing legislation being proposed; and orders, proclamations, statutes, and ordinances being issued at various levels of government. Forms being created will be made available only to our members...

OFFERED ON THESE DATES: AUGUST 19, DECEMBER 9 Time: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm Cost: $39 Member / $49 Non-Member This seminar will cover the types of forms you will be using and will show you the correct way to complete them in order to avoid unpleasant legal consequences. [caption...

“The question becomes how do we position ourselves to take advantage of opportunities that we have never had before.” I would like to start off by thanking each of you who were able to attend the first Membership Meeting of 2020 and for taking part in...

We Now Have Statewide Rent Control and Just Cause for Tenancy AB 2406 Will Require You to Register Your Units with the State in Order to Evict or Raise Rent No residential property owner that “operates fewer than five rental dwelling units” will be able to increase...

“You as the housing provider do not have a right of possession to the rental unit after you have entered into a lease agreement...